"Overblown" TV screen image (both menus and games)

Everything about the Wii and its games...

Overscan Issues with Wii U and Projector

Postby bisk » 18 Nov 2012 13:41

I've noticed that about 5% of my screen is being cut off on my Sony HS10 projector. I noticed due to some of the buttons being cut off on some dialog screens. I was going through the settings on both the Wii U and my projector but neither seem to have anything to adjust the pixels similar to what I do with my HTPC and XBMC.

Any thoughts?
bisk
Fairy
Fairy
 
Posts: 5
Joined: 11 Jan 2009 15:59
NN ID: JRBisk
XBL: jrbisk

Re: Overscan Issues with Wii U and Projector

Postby Lakster37 » 18 Nov 2012 16:35

Same thing happens for me on my APEX TV. On the GameCube it was an easy fix in the system menu, but for the Wii U all I can do is change the aspect ratio, not reposition the screen. Hope they can fix this with an update...
Image
Lakster's Wii FC: 0396-7842-5899-7903
User avatar
Lakster37
Piranha Plant
Piranha Plant
 
Posts: 208
Joined: 06 Nov 2005 19:50
Location: On the Verge of Sanity
NN ID: Lakster

Re: Overscan Issues with Wii U and Projector

Postby jlatimer11 » 18 Nov 2012 16:46

I'm having this issue with my LG TV as well. You can tell the difference by comparing the TV to the Gamepad.
Image
User avatar
jlatimer11
Waddle Dee
Waddle Dee
 
Posts: 81
Joined: 05 Oct 2012 14:09
Location: Maryland
NN ID: jlatimer11
3DS: 1891-1333-7003
PSN: jlatimer11
XBL: jmlat

"Overblown" TV screen image (both menus and games)

Postby Eternal Rain » 18 Nov 2012 20:35

This is probably the only major issue I am having with the Wii U as of right now. The size of the menu on the TV is really overblown, meaning the screen is cut off on bottom, left, and right. It's especially obvious when I look at everything through my GamePad screen. First I was worried it was my TV since it's an old one from 2000, but then I looked around and found people on sites like Nintendo own technical support forums mentioning they're having this same problem with HDTVs at 16:9 and 720p resolutions. What makes it weirder is that the Wii Menu on the system is perfectly fine, with no cut off and being the exact same size as the menu on my original Wii system. Also strange is that I can alter screen edges in the eShop, but not in the system proper (switching size from 4:3 to 16:9 doesn't help either, it's a 4:3 TV anyway).

Needless to say... patch please! (actually feels good to say this about a Nintendo system for once, heh heh) I'll update if I find out this is a problem in games too, but I really hope it's not.




Sorry for the double post but I feel I need to say this now. Okay wow, even in 4:3 aspect ratio I think the edge of screen cut off is worse than it was on my Wii. I don't even think it was like this on the 360. I'm now hoping for an OS patch that allows for better screen size customization for those of us who do NOT own wide screen TVs. However... now I wonder if my Wii U can be hooked into my computer monitor through the HDMI cable... it's wide screen and can display pictures up to 1080p. I'll have to look into this.

So far this is the only real flaw I can see, because changing the aspect ratio does nothing to help with this, I need an option to manually change the edges of the screen (oddly this IS an option in the eShop, just not in the system proper).

EDIT: Turns out I'm not the only one having this issue, even people with 16:9 resolutions get this problem. Strange.

Hope this is patched soon, because I can see this being a real pain for many others.
Last edited by cortjezter on 19 Nov 2012 06:07, edited 2 times in total.
Reason: double post fixed
User avatar
Eternal Rain
Toad
Toad
 
Posts: 845
Joined: 27 May 2009 22:31

Re: "Overblown" menu screen

Postby CaptainFalco311 » 18 Nov 2012 20:46

Same! I was looking for something about it on Nintendo's website and found nothing. I've spent enough time on the phone with them today (I was having trouble making an account when Nintendo Network was down earlier). Hopefully this gets taken care of soon, though.
CaptainFalco311
Fairy
Fairy
 
Posts: 7
Joined: 21 Sep 2012 08:50
NN ID: CaptainFalco311

Re: "Overblown" menu screen

Postby Eternal Rain » 18 Nov 2012 21:03

Sadly I can now confirm this is an issue with games too. Nintendo Land on the Tv and then on the GamePad were quite different, as the TV screen image had the left and right sides really cut off, cutting off close to what I'd say may have been close to 10 or 15% of the screen.

Like I said, as of right now is is the only significant issue I have with the Wii U right now, and hopefully Nintendo is becoming aware of the issue and working to patch it ASAP, since this is present on both SD and HD TVs.
User avatar
Eternal Rain
Toad
Toad
 
Posts: 845
Joined: 27 May 2009 22:31

Re: "Overblown" TV screen image (both menus and games)

Postby LSF22 » 18 Nov 2012 22:10

i dont want to sound like and ass but is your tv set on zoom? i ask because my parents used to do that with their tv all the time and things would get cut off. maybe when it switches resolutions for the wii menu it fixes itself, but for 720p its staying zoomed. also, try a different a different resolution setting to see if it fixes itself. if all else fails, black friday sales have been advertizing many 40ish inch hdtvs for about $140 depending on where you go.

hopefully you can find a solution without needing to wait for Nintendo.
User avatar
LSF22
Boo
Boo
 
Posts: 563
Joined: 08 Jun 2012 23:48
NN ID: LionsFan
XBL: xxLSF22xx

Re: "Overblown" TV screen image (both menus and games)

Postby Eternal Rain » 18 Nov 2012 23:07

LSF22 wrote:i dont want to sound like and ass but is your tv set on zoom? i ask because my parents used to do that with their tv all the time and things would get cut off. maybe when it switches resolutions for the wii menu it fixes itself, but for 720p its staying zoomed. also, try a different a different resolution setting to see if it fixes itself. if all else fails, black friday sales have been advertizing many 40ish inch hdtvs for about $140 depending on where you go.

hopefully you can find a solution without needing to wait for Nintendo.


This TVs adjustment options are really limited, and there is no "zoom" option (also it's in 480i, it goes no higher). It's an old tube TV from 2000. Changing between 4:3 and 16:9 on the system really does nothing either. While that sounds like an awesome deal I wish I could get on, I just don't have the money to spend right now on a new TV.

Minor update, Black Ops 2 seems to be fine. I don't know if it's this way because of my system settings or not, but on my touch screen it only displays in 4:3 to begin with, and on the TV it doesn't cut much off the sides, so this one gets a pass.

I still really want Nintendo to fix this, as it's a problem not just for me but for a decent few others.
User avatar
Eternal Rain
Toad
Toad
 
Posts: 845
Joined: 27 May 2009 22:31

Re: "Overblown" TV screen image (both menus and games)

Postby Furealz » 18 Nov 2012 23:29

Noooooo! It's been happening on my Wii U to and tried all the "zoom" functions and none of them fix it HELP!
User avatar
Furealz
Waddle Dee
Waddle Dee
 
Posts: 76
Joined: 16 Oct 2012 16:23

Re: "Overblown" TV screen image (both menus and games)

Postby Blakexd9 » 19 Nov 2012 00:11

THANK GOD I'M NOT ALONE ON THIS!!! I feared there was a problem with my TV, and it needed replacing. Anyway, I hope Nintendo fixes this ASAP. Little things like this really bother me. I can't play without thinking about it!
User avatar
Blakexd9
Fairy
Fairy
 
Posts: 7
Joined: 22 Jun 2012 03:22

Re: "Overblown" TV screen image (both menus and games)

Postby Irritating Stick » 19 Nov 2012 02:27

I found that you can adjust the screen size for eShop and Miiverse. I haven't checked anything else just yet but there's those two for you at least.
I FEEL ASLEEP!!

Image
User avatar
Irritating Stick
Piranha Plant
Piranha Plant
 
Posts: 203
Joined: 18 Nov 2010 01:42
Location: New Jersey
NN ID: Mr.Coffee
3DS: 3737-9540-2045
Wii: 5233-5987-2344-4533
PSN: MrCoffee-
XBL: coffee41790

Re: "Overblown" TV screen image (both menus and games)

Postby Eternal Rain » 19 Nov 2012 10:11

Irritating Stick wrote:I found that you can adjust the screen size for eShop and Miiverse. I haven't checked anything else just yet but there's those two for you at least.


Yeah in a way that's part of the problem, you can only alter the size of the edges in those modes, but not for the main section of the system. This is problematic for Nintendo Land because it sorta acts like it integrates that game with the Wii U's OS. Black Ops 2 is a bit different because it seems to sorta adjust itself, interestingly (though some minor cutoff is present in some menus, like only half of the A button is present on the load out selection screen).

I have heard some people with HDTVs can fix this by adjusting certain settings, but sadly not everyone is capable of using these settings options, especially people like me who are playing on older TVs, and even some HDTVs don't have this option a select few are using.

I know this is like the 100th time I've said this, but... patch please, Nintendo (starting to seriously make me wonder what TVs they tested the system on now).
User avatar
Eternal Rain
Toad
Toad
 
Posts: 845
Joined: 27 May 2009 22:31

Re: "Overblown" TV screen image (both menus and games)

Postby jlatimer11 » 19 Nov 2012 10:20

Turning off the overscan on my TV fixed the problem for me.
Image
User avatar
jlatimer11
Waddle Dee
Waddle Dee
 
Posts: 81
Joined: 05 Oct 2012 14:09
Location: Maryland
NN ID: jlatimer11
3DS: 1891-1333-7003
PSN: jlatimer11
XBL: jmlat

Re: "Overblown" TV screen image (both menus and games)

Postby CaptainFalco311 » 19 Nov 2012 11:13

jlatimer11 wrote:Turning off the overscan on my TV fixed the problem for me.


Can you explain how you did this? A quick Google search didn't turn up much. It would be much appreciated :D
CaptainFalco311
Fairy
Fairy
 
Posts: 7
Joined: 21 Sep 2012 08:50
NN ID: CaptainFalco311

Re: "Overblown" TV screen image (both menus and games)

Postby jlatimer11 » 19 Nov 2012 11:19

It'd be in the menus that your HDTV SHOULD have.

Disabling it usually depends on the manufacturer and model.
Image
User avatar
jlatimer11
Waddle Dee
Waddle Dee
 
Posts: 81
Joined: 05 Oct 2012 14:09
Location: Maryland
NN ID: jlatimer11
3DS: 1891-1333-7003
PSN: jlatimer11
XBL: jmlat

Re: "Overblown" TV screen image (both menus and games)

Postby CaptainFalco311 » 19 Nov 2012 11:26

Alright, I'll try that on my Sanyo SDTV when I get home. Wish me luck... :roll:
CaptainFalco311
Fairy
Fairy
 
Posts: 7
Joined: 21 Sep 2012 08:50
NN ID: CaptainFalco311

Re: "Overblown" TV screen image (both menus and games)

Postby jlatimer11 » 19 Nov 2012 11:28

CaptainFalco311 wrote:Alright, I'll try that on my Sanyo SDTV when I get home. Wish me luck... :roll:


Apologies. Didn't know it was a SDTV.
Image
User avatar
jlatimer11
Waddle Dee
Waddle Dee
 
Posts: 81
Joined: 05 Oct 2012 14:09
Location: Maryland
NN ID: jlatimer11
3DS: 1891-1333-7003
PSN: jlatimer11
XBL: jmlat

Re: "Overblown" TV screen image (both menus and games)

Postby tankers » 19 Nov 2012 11:44

LoL. This was the reason I just signed up! So someone could help me on this exact issue, but I guess there's no solution yet.

I did the initial setup on a Samsung LED tv and everything was perfect. Switched over to my Apex and whoa screen cutoff. Tried changing the zoom mode on the Apex and I sat there flicking through each menu trying to find something to adjust the screen. *sigh*

It's great this thing can control my TV, it sucks that the screens cutoff tho...I hope there's an update.
User avatar
tankers
Fairy
Fairy
 
Posts: 3
Joined: 19 Nov 2012 11:23
Location: SoCal

Re: "Overblown" TV screen image (both menus and games)

Postby Grimlockk » 19 Nov 2012 11:45

I'm having the same issue. I'm sure the next update/patch will correct this.
Grimlockk
Fairy
Fairy
 
Posts: 2
Joined: 26 Sep 2012 11:53
NN ID: Finn79
3DS: 034492791787
PSN: Grimlockk

Re: "Overblown" TV screen image (both menus and games)

Postby linkgx1 » 19 Nov 2012 11:55

I have a Panasonic ST50 and have this problem. I thought I was crazy! :lol:
linkgx1
Waddle Dee
Waddle Dee
 
Posts: 77
Joined: 17 Nov 2012 18:54
NN ID: Linkgx1
PSN: Linkgx1
XBL: Linkgx1

Re: "Overblown" TV screen image (both menus and games)

Postby jlatimer11 » 19 Nov 2012 12:00

linkgx1 wrote:I have a Panasonic ST50 and have this problem. I thought I was crazy! :lol:


Push the FORMAT button > Change it to JUST. That SHOULD fix it.

http://service.us.panasonic.com/OPERMAN ... P_ST50.PDF

Page 26.
Image
User avatar
jlatimer11
Waddle Dee
Waddle Dee
 
Posts: 81
Joined: 05 Oct 2012 14:09
Location: Maryland
NN ID: jlatimer11
3DS: 1891-1333-7003
PSN: jlatimer11
XBL: jmlat

Re: "Overblown" TV screen image (both menus and games)

Postby LSF22 » 19 Nov 2012 12:46

Eternal Rain wrote:Minor update, Black Ops 2 seems to be fine. I don't know if it's this way because of my system settings or not, but on my touch screen it only displays in 4:3 to begin with, and on the TV it doesn't cut much off the sides, so this one gets a pass.


I havent tried black ops 2 on the wiiu but on the 360 the game starts out with a screen adjustment thats done in game. you may be able to adjust even further in the options so you can at least enjoy that game until a solution is found.
User avatar
LSF22
Boo
Boo
 
Posts: 563
Joined: 08 Jun 2012 23:48
NN ID: LionsFan
XBL: xxLSF22xx

Re: "Overblown" TV screen image (both menus and games)

Postby linkgx1 » 19 Nov 2012 13:42

jlatimer11 wrote:
linkgx1 wrote:I have a Panasonic ST50 and have this problem. I thought I was crazy! :lol:


Push the FORMAT button > Change it to JUST. That SHOULD fix it.

http://service.us.panasonic.com/OPERMAN ... P_ST50.PDF

Page 26.

Okay, sweet. Thanks!
linkgx1
Waddle Dee
Waddle Dee
 
Posts: 77
Joined: 17 Nov 2012 18:54
NN ID: Linkgx1
PSN: Linkgx1
XBL: Linkgx1

Re: "Overblown" TV screen image (both menus and games)

Postby Hylianhero777 » 19 Nov 2012 16:10

Had the same problem, the VERY edges of the screen were cut off on all sides, but I want to my TV settings and under aspect ration I used "Fit Screen" instead of 16:9 and that worked. Hope this helps for those playing on an HD screen.
Image
Heck yeah ZELDA!
User avatar
Hylianhero777
Goomba
Goomba
 
Posts: 18
Joined: 30 Jun 2011 09:27
NN ID: Hylianhero777

Re: "Overblown" TV screen image (both menus and games)

Postby CaptainColon » 19 Nov 2012 16:20

I have this issue on two TVs in the house. They're both the same brand TV, but the one in my bedroom is 32" and the original one I had it setup to downstairs is 37". Some games like Scribblenauts and Rabbids Land let you adjust the screen image to fix this, but I agree that it needs to be an option in the system menu asap.
User avatar
CaptainColon
Koopa Troopa
Koopa Troopa
 
Posts: 415
Joined: 19 Mar 2010 11:40
Location: NY
NN ID: BeerAndMidgets
3DS: 0989-1731-6815


Return to WiiU / Wii

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: Vonter