SEGA hosting Phantasy Star Online 2: New Genesis presentation on Dec. 19th, 2020

New info right around the corner

A cloud version of Phantasy Star Online 2: New Genesis is heading to Switch in Japan in 2021, and SEGA has some news to share on the game in the near future. A special presentation is going to be held online on Dec. 19th, 2020 at 6:30 AM ET. This presentation will have new information on the game, and will be viewable in English.

Sonic the Hedgehog movie sequel begins production in March 2021

Revving up

The first Sonic the Hedgehog movie turned out to be quite a hit, both in terms of revenue and fan response. That's why Paramount was quick to greenlight a sequel, and work on that project is kicking off early next year.

We've learned that production on the film will officially kick off in Canada come March 2021. The codename for the film is "Emerald Hill," and production should run from March 15th to May 10th, 2021. Unfortunately, there's no word on what direction the story will take at this time, and we don't know who's returning from the first film.

Thanks to OperationGamer17 for the heads up!

Puyo Puyo Tetris sells over 1.4 million units worldwide, dev discusses the pandemic's impact on the sequel

Will the sequel be a hit as well?

Puyo Puyo Tetris 2 is on the way, and it's no wonder SEGA is cooking up a sequel. In an interview with Siliconera, franchise director and producer Mizuki Hosoyamada reveals that the original outing managed to sell over 1.4 million units worldwide. We'll see soon enough if the sequel gets the same warm welcome, as it's set to launch on Dec. 8th, 2020.

A little later in the interview, Mr. Hosoyamada discusses how work on the sequel was impacted by the pandemic. You can see his response on that matter below.

Naturally, we were affected and our development teams in Japan worked from their respective homes following the declaration of a state of emergency in April 2020. The ban on going into the office in Tokyo was lifted after about two months, but it still hasn’t fully been resolved since then. The majority of team members have been able to return to the office while taking safety precautions, such as wearing masks social distancing at all times. We are working diligently to develop this project so that we can launch in December 2020. The staff at the Sega of America office in California are also working remotely, so all of us are working hard together to create great games and deliver them to you.

More screens released for Puyo Puyo Tetris 2

Puyo Puyo Tetris 2 is pretty self explanatory, especially if you played the first game. This sequel is more of the same, but that's definitely not a bad thing! Still, if you want to get a look at how the sequel is shaping up, another batch of screens has come in. You can find the gallery here.

Virtua Fighter characters now available in Goonya Fighter

Recognizable faces join the fight

Goonya Fighter has been updated with a series of characters from Virtua Fighter. Fans of the SEGA fighting franchise can now download Pai Chan, Akira Yuki, Sarah Bryant, Lau Chan, and Wolf Hawkfield, which are priced at ¥100 each. Obviously, you'll also need the base Goonya Fighter game to access this content as well.

Asian retailers list English release for Persona 5 Scramble: The Phantom Strikers as launching Feb. 23rd, 2021

Scrambling towards localization

Looks like we might have some info on the upcoming English release of Persona 5 Scramble: The Phantom Strikers. Multiple Asian retailers have just added English listings for the title, and they all show a Feb. 23rd, 2021 release. The listings say this version of the game will have English text, along with English voiceovers. Now we just need Atlus to confirm this info!

Yakuza's producer would love to work with the Sonic IP, and would make a "completely different Sonic"

Let him do it!

Producer Daisuke Sato has found great success with the Yakuza franchise, and is sure to work on many more great installments down the road. That said, he'd also like to have a crack at the Sonic franchise. According to an interview with SEGA, Sato would love to take things in a different direction.

"It’s an IP that I haven’t come to before. In the sense that I want to try it, … well, Sonic. After all, when you hear Sega you think Sonic. I’d like to get involved once at least. But for me, the so-called Sonic is, well, if I were to do it, I wouldn’t do Sonic as it was. I would like to make a completely different Sonic."

SEGA shows off never-before-seen concept art for Sonic Adventure, Sonic Adventure 2 and Sonic Heroes

You've never seen Sonic like this!

Think you've seen it all when it comes to Sonic the Hedgehog? Well think again, as SEGA has just revealed a ton of concept art that has never seen the light of day outside of SEGA's offices.

SEGA showcased these pieces during a charity live-stream, and their reveals included concept art for Sonic Adventure, Sonic Adventure 2 and Sonic Heroes. You can check out the entire gallery here.

Puyo Puyo Tetris 2 gets another Japanese trailer

Still haven't seen enough of Puyo Puyo Tetris 2? SEGA released another Japanese trailer for the game that showcases gameplay and more. Give it a look above.

SEGA releases Puyo Puyo Tetris 2 wallpapers

Some free goodies

Puyo Puyo Tetris 2 launches for Switch on Dec. 8th, 2020, and SEGA is promoting the upcoming release with some fancy new wallpapers. You can hit up the tweets above to grab the wallpapers for free, which come in both PC and mobile sizes. Always nice to get some free content!


Today's VIP

rickola's avatar
Joined: October 2017

Social Services