RUMOR - Details on Metroid Prime 4's rough development, Retro's new involvement, Metroid Prime Trilogy on Switch, and other Metroid projects

The news of Metroid Prime 4's development being restarted with Retro handling the project has shocked many, there's no doubt about it. The announcement has lead many fans to wonder just how the project fell apart, and what lead to Retro getting involved once again. While we don't have concrete information, we do have some rumored details from Imran Khan, Senior Editor at Game Informer.

- the problem came from Nintendo's experimental ad-hoc development process
- Metroid Prime 4 was being made in parts in different countries
- some studios were progressing smoothly with the project, while others were having a lot of trouble
- Nintendo started to think that the game needed to be all under one roof to set things straight
- Retro made the pitch for their involvement and put together a demo that Nintendo liked

That's not the only project Metroid fans have been hearing about, though. There have been long-standing rumors of the Metroid Prime Trilogy coming to Switch, as well as other Metroid-related projects in the works. Khan elaborates on those situations as well.

- the Metroid Prime Trilogy Switch port has been completed for quite some time
- it was originally going to be announced last month
- there's more Metroid stuff in development

Check out Nvidia Shield TV’s The Legend of Zelda: Twilight Princess graphical update

The other week, we posted about an update available for the Nvidia Shield TV version of The Legend of Zelda: Twilight Princess that gave the graphics a bit of enhancement. Now you can check out what that update looks like in the footage above!

Dragon Quest X - latest Japanese commercial

This is the third entry in the latest round of Dragon Quest X commercials. Looks like Square-Enix wants to drum up some new interest ahead of the Dragon Quest X Version 4.5 update!

Square-Enix working on Version 4.5 for Dragon Quest X

The next big update for Dragon Quest X is in the works. Square-Enix has confirmed that Dragon Quest X is going to be updated to Version 4.5 sometime in the near future. What Square-Enix wouldn't do is reveal details on the update. Just what this update brings will be revealed at a later date.

Just Dance 2019 - Swish Swish (VIP Alternate) Umutcan Gameplay

Check out our reigning Just Dance World Cup champion Umutcan in his VIP alternate version of Swish Swish by Katy Perry Ft. Nicki Minaj on Just Dance Unlimited!

What ever happened to THQ's golden Wii that was meant for the Queen?

If you've been with GoNintendo for a long time now, you might remember us posting about the golden Wii that THQ created alongside Big Family Games. It was all part of a PR stunt to promote the game. THQ said they were sending a copy of the game and the golden Wii to the Queen of England. The thing is, the Queen isn't allowed to receive gifts due to security concerns. So where did the golden Wii end up? Check out the mini-doc above to find out!

Reminder: Wii Shop closes January 30, 2019

Dear Nintendo fans,

As previously announced, the Wii Shop Channel will close for good on January 30, 2019. The ability to add Wii Points was removed earlier this year, but if you still have any Wii Points that you wish to spend, you must do so before January 30, 2019.

If you have any questions, please see our Q&A.

Please also note that as the Wii Shop Channel closure date approaches, remaining video-on-demand services on Wii will be ending as well.

Thank you for supporting Wii Shop Channel and for being such great fans of Nintendo.


Your Friends at Nintendo

NVIDIA improves The Legend of Zelda: Twilight Princess' visuals on the NVIDIA Shield with 'deep learning'

NVIDIA has released an update for The Legend of Zelda: Twilight Princess on Nvidia Shield. In the tweet above, you can see a comparison of how the game used to look (top) and how it looks after the update (bottom). NVIDIA said they used 'deep learning' to improve texture work in the game, changing over 4,400 textures. If you want to see more comparisons, as well as some comparisons that add in Twilight Princess HD on the Wii U, you can get a look right here.

Dragon Quest X - another Japanese commercial

Even though Dragon Quest X never saw release in NA/EU, the game continues on in Japan with new content. Square-Enix has been releasing commercials to promote the game in recent weeks, with yet another new video featured above.

Switch sales outpacing Wii in Japan

The Switch is a bonafide hit worldwide, but there are certain regions where Switch success is on a completely different level. Japan is definitely one of those regions, and we can see that through some comparison data.

In the Switch's 97th week of sale in Japan, the platform has sold a total of 7,046,766 units. At the same point in its lifespan, the Wii had sold 6,831,647 units in Japan. It took Wii 105 weeks of sale to reach 7,064,622, which would put it just a bit ahead of where Switch is now. We all know how huge the Wii's success was, which makes what Switch is pulling off even more impressive.