Dear Reader:

You are viewing a story from GN 1.0 / 2.0. Time may not have been kind to formatting, integrity of links, images, information, etc.

More Rock Band DLC...none for Wii yet

by rawmeatcowboy
02 January 2009
GN 1.0 / 2.0

Cambridge, Mass. – January 2, 2009- Harmonix and MTV Games announced today the addition of one of the most influential pioneers of rock and roll, Roy Orbison, to the Rock Band® Music Store catalog of downloadable content. Grammy Award-winning Roy Orbison was a singer, songwriter and performer whose distinctive sound scored him an astounding nine Top 10 hits in four years in the early 1960s. Orbison’s historic career began in the 1950s and saw a huge resurgence in the late 1980s, when he became a prominent influence on artists like Bruce Springsteen, Elvis Costello, Bono, k. d. lang and Traveling Wilburys.

The “Roy Orbison Pack 01” will include “Oh, Pretty Woman,” “Ooby Dooby,” “In Dreams,” Claudette,” “Mean Woman Blues” and “You Got It.” All six songs will be available for download as individual tracks as well. These six songs featured are hits from Orbison’s incredible legacy of albums including the recently released definitive box set Roy Orbison: The Soul of Rock And Roll (2008) which contains 107 recordings spanning Orbison’s entire career.

“When I was a kid, my world evolved around a black vinyl record,” said Barbara Orbison. “How times have changed! Rock Band and Harmonix have given us a new way to experience music and now everyone can belong to a band. How much more fun could you have, than to play the opening riff of Oh Pretty Woman and try to sing like Roy Orbison?”

These tracks will be available starting January 6, 2009, for the Xbox_360® video game and entertainment system from Microsoft and January 15, 2009 for PLAYSTATION®3 computer entertainment system. Each individual track will be available for $1.99 (160 Microsoft Points) and $9.99 (800 Microsoft Points) for the 6-pack.

Release Date: Tuesday, January 6, 2009 (Xbox LIVE Marketplace for Xbox 360)

Thursday, January 15, 2009 (PlayStation®Store)

Tracks: (Click on track to view music video)

1. “Claudette”
2. “In Dreams”
3. “Mean Woman Blues”
4. “Oh, Pretty Woman”
5. “Ooby Dooby”
6. “You Got It”
(All tracks are original master recordings)

Price: $1.99 (160 Microsoft Points for Xbox 360) per track
$9.99 (800 Microsoft Points for Xbox 360) for the 6-pack

Locations: Xbox LIVE Marketplace for Xbox 360 and PlayStation®Network

PR email