Dear Reader:

You are viewing a story from GN Version 5.0. Time may not have been kind to formatting, integrity of links, images, information, etc.

Squaresoft Chillout Album THE WORLD IS SQUARE Announced

by rawmeatcowboy
17 January 2019
GN Version 5.0

SAN DIEGO - January 17, 2018 - Scarlet Moon Records is pleased to present THE WORLD IS SQUARE, a loving tribute to Squaresoft JRPGs from the SNES and PSX eras arranged by producer and videogame remixing pioneer Mustin. Mustin--best known as the co-founder of OneUp Studios and The OneUps--has prepared laid back electronic renditions of all the classics, including tracks from Secret of Mana, Chrono Trigger, Final Fantasy IV, Final Fantasy VI, and Final Fantasy VII. Each track is dedicated to a special girl in Mustin's life, making a perfect musical accompaniment for Valentine's Day. And yes, the album's title is a reference to the optional dungeon puzzle from Final Fantasy VI. THE WORLD IS SQUARE is fully licensed and is now available for pre-order with a February 14, 2019 release date.

"This album is a celebration of my favorite time in gaming: the (then) Squaresoft RPG," comments arranger/producer Mustin. "Having completed the first track in 2003, this has been a 15+ year project in the making. I hope you enjoy my first true solo outing."

The full track listing for THE WORLD IS SQUARE is as follows:

01. Fear of the Heavens (Secret of Mana)
02. Main Theme of Final Fantasy IV
03. Theme of Love (Final Fantasy IV)
04. Forest Butterflies ["Secret of the Forest"] (Chrono Trigger)
05. From the Bottom ["Bottom of the Night"] (Chrono Trigger)
06. Coin Song (Final Fantasy VI)
07. Lonely Girl ["Terra"] (Final Fantasy VI)
08. Serenity ["Main Theme of Final Fantasy VII"]

The digital version will include a sleek digital booklet with artwork, track credits, and liner notes on Bandcamp and iTunes. There's also a physical edition to enjoy the lovely cover illustration by Scarlet Moon graphic designer Connary Fagen in all its pixelated glory.

[PR email]