Dear Reader:

You are viewing a story from GN Version 5.0. Time may not have been kind to formatting, integrity of links, images, information, etc.

LEGO Star Wars: The Skywalker Saga is packing in tons of new features/content, and the devs were inspired by Zelda: Breath of the Wild

Help me Link, you're my only hope
by rawmeatcowboy
15 June 2019
GN Version 5.0

LEGO Star Wars: The Skywalker Saga isn't going to be rehash of previously-released LEGO Star Wars games. This is a completely new experience, and the dev team on the project is going all-out with changes, features, and content not seen in the LEGO game series before. Turns out the team has been inspired by The Legend of Zelda: Breath of the Wild well. Check out the rundown of new details below, courtesy of a Kotaku hands-on session.

- the camera is closer in and behind-the back
- the camera is controlled freely with the analog stick
- the developers have changed the camera system because they believe kids have gotten better at free-control cameras
- combat now involves light attacks, heavy attacks and force moves
- the game looks more like it is composed of LEGO bricks than previous installments
- the in-game version of the Millennium Falcon would take roughly 18,000,000 bricks to be recreated in real life
- all spaceship interiors are rendered as if fully made of LEGOs, including action set in the Death Star
- the game also includes an all-LEGO Sarlacc Pit
- the game is broken up into nine regions, each consisting of two or three planets that are featured in the movies
- start the game by picking one of the nine main Star Wars films
- planets contain a mix of movie-centric material and more generalized Star Wars activities
- picking a movie unlocks some planets that include levels from those films
- players can always go back and start a new movie before finishing the one they started
- any planets unlocked for one movie will be available to freely visit even once another movie has been selected
- the movies are depicted through a mix of activities in the open world and discrete levels
- there will be five levels for each film
- the developers are trying to focus as much as possible on sections of the movies that weren’t turned into levels previously
- the first mission for the Phantom Menace will be the underwater chase through the core of the planet Naboo
- the devs say they didn’t have the tech to do that kind of stuff back in the day
- Obi-Wan Kenobi and Qui-Gon Jinn’s arrival on a trade federation ship are handled in the game’s open world
- visit the Anchorhead region of Tatooine
- you'll see all sorts of characters here, including R2D2, Jawas and Banthas, which you can ride
- there are 500 quests in the game
- one quest involves translating for and then helping a Gonk droid
- the devs recognize the open world content needed a bit more 'oomph'
- the devs cited Legends Of Zelda: Breath of the Wild as a source of inspiration on how to kick up this aspect of gameplay
-. the team says like in Breath of the Wild, the goal is that with every corner you turn, there’s always something to do
- the team is filling more of the world with puzzle
- the open world will have bounty hunter missions in which you go to a planet to seek a character hidden somewhere else
- here's also “smuggler’s runs” where you pick up cargo and have to fly it from system to system without being caught
- you can stop doing one sidequest before finishing it, start another, and the game will remember your progress
- Star Wars: The Rise Of Skywalker content hasn’t been put in the game yet, because the devs haven’t been told the plot
- the game will support co-op, with the view being split evenly during levels
- when asked about online co-op, the devs said they have the tech for it, but stopped short of confirming