New gameplay details and footage shared for Densha de GO!! Hashirou Yamanote Sen

Next stop...another stop

Square-Enix shared a new round of gameplay and details for Densha de GO!! Hashirou Yamanote Sen. You can check out their full segment on the game above, and read up on the info below.

Visual Works, which plays a central role in the production of Square Enix’s high-quality video content, worked on the graphics for Densha de GO!! Hashirou Yamanote Sen. The game reproduces the 30 stations and real townscapes along the Yamanote Line, and features multiple time and weather variations. Time and weather variations are set according to mission, but can be freely set in “Free Drive” mode.

Go Around the Yamanote Line

The inner loop of the Yamanote Line has been reproduced in the game. Takanawa Gateway Station, the first new station along the line in 49 years, also appears. About half a year has passed since its opening in March 2020. If you have yet to visit, why not visit as a train conductor in the game?

—Takanawa Gateway Station
—Shibuya Station
—Shinjuku Station

A Selection of Trains and Lines

While the game is set along the modern Yamanote Line, four types of Yamanote Line old and new appear as operable trains. Some trains might be nostalgic to see nowadays.

—103 Series
—205 Series
—E231 Series
—E235 Series

The game also features lines and trains that run parallel to the Yamanote Line, including the Saikyo Line, Keihin-Tohoku Line, Ueno-Tokyo Line, and Narita Express. These trains can run along the sections of the Yamanote Line where the lines run parallel. Also, the Sobu Line, which is popular in the arcade version, is included between Ichigaya and Akihabara.

—Narita Express
—Keihin-Tohoku Line
—Saikyo Line
—Ueno-Tokyo Line

Over 200 Missions

Densha de GO!! Hashirou Yamanote Sen features the following three gameplay modes:

Arcade Mode – Play the Yamanote Line and Sobu Line missions of the arcade version, which have been arranged for console while retaining the fun of the missions popular in arcades. In this mode, your score will evaluate your skills as a train conductor. Aim for the highest ranking and hone your abilities to become the “Train Conductor of Light.”

Ouchi de GO! Mode

This mode offers three play styles: “Conductor’s Way,” a stage clear-type style; “Free Drive,” in which you can freely set the train, environment, and travel section; and “Daily Roulette,” in which you play dedicated missions selected by roulette.

Conductor’s Way is a mission clear-style mode in which you progress through each mission with the goal of reaching an overall ending. Play missions with various goals and make your way through the game while refining the techniques necessary for transport-related work. By clearing the exam at the end of each chapter, you will be able to advance to the next chapter.

The route will branch off midway into Conductor’s Way. By clearing secret missions, you can unlock the Free Drive and Daily Roulette modes.

VR Mode – Play missions from the arcade version. Six sections of the Yamanote Line are included (Harajuku to Shinagawa) for a total of 10 missions with clear morning, noon, and evening situations.

Controller Play

Densha de GO!! Hashirou Yamanote Sen has been adapted to a controller while retaining the feel of playing at the arcade. You can choose between two control types: “Standard Type” (left stick down to accelerate, up to break), which is closer to the real train conductor experience, and “Simple Type” (left stick up to accelerate, down to break), which emphasizes a more “game” feel. Input can also be selected from two types: “Direct,” which accelerates all at once, and “Step,” which accelerates one step at a time.


You can be first to reply!


Today's VIP

terrance's avatar
Joined: January 2016

Social Services

Want to join this discussion?

You should like, totally log in or sign up!